LET IT BEGIN!

The Top 16-20 of 2008 (Part 1 of 4)

So with it being the end of the year, blogs and sites alike are putting out their “Top X” lists. They might be music lists, movie lists or just moments that have happened over the past year. Well in keeping with end of the year tradition I plan to do the same. However I am going to do a Top 16-20(not sure what I will end up at) of 2008. It’s a mix of Music, Movies, World Events and Personal Events. I do not plan on making the whole list in numeric order but each section will be. I apologize for any spelling mistakes or grammar issues, I am not a writer and don’t really mind the mistakes, I feel you will still understand what I am trying to say, plus it adds character 😛

To start us off I am going to do my personal events of 2008:

4. CALGARY/EDMONTON ROAD TRIP:

The original plan; go to Vancouver with Duncan, hit up the Radiohead concert and then proceed to embark on our planned road trip. Go straight from Vancouver to Calgary in one day, chill in Calgary for a couple days (Duncan would leave to go to Medicine Hat, while I stayed behind) then we would make the short drive to Edmonton, check out the mall and then gun it back to Victoria. Minus going over to Vancouver together to see the concert that is exactly what happened. We left Vancouver early Thursday morning I think and made it all the way to Calgary by 10:00pm. The big event for this trip was I got to see Lissette for the first time in 2 years. It was a grand old time, Tagg and Nat happened to be visiting at the same time so it was quite the blast from the past with some Marcel and Duncan mixed in for good measure. It should also be mentioned it was the first time I have ever been outside of BC but still within Canada. I got to check out the city, hit up some really tasty restaurants, go to the gun range and just sit around be kind of lazy and hang out with some old friends. Edmonton was somewhat of a letdown I have to say. The mall was not really the best thing ever as I had been told. Now, I didn’t do the water park which I understand is a large aspect of the experience but I just couldn’t bring myself to pay THAT much to play in a pool for 3 hours.

Notable Moments: Lissette stealing the large carrier of assorted breakfast condiments, the gun range, and I really enjoyed the drive home. I drove the whole way from Edmonton to Vancouver all the way through Jasper it was a really nice drive.

dsc_0026

3. FOO FIGHTERS CONCERT:

I knew coming into 2008 I was going to keep myself pretty busy concert wise. By the end of January I knew for a fact that I would be hitting Foo Fighters, Queens of the Stone Age and Cake all within a one month (or so) period. Of the three concerts Foo was far and away the best of the bunch. Me, Ashley, Michelle, Duncan, Ben and Robin all headed over to Vancouver to meet up with Allen as his place, have a few beers and then make our way to the concert. I knew going in that it was going to be a concert to remember, and I wasn’t disappointed. A few weeks ago it was made even sweeter as the band announced they were going on a long term hiatus. So I was extremely happy I got a chance to see them when I did. It was a blast, they played pretty much every song they needed to and they had such amazing energy.

Notable Moments: The trip to the concert from Allen’s place, My Hero live and Ben being so drunk he passed out and missed the majority of the concert.

n750505561_2608425_2428

2. RADIOHEAD CONCERT:

Don’t get me wrong, the Foo concert was amazing, and I got to share it with some awesome people. But Radiohead is and will continue to be for sometime the best concert I have ever been to. Quick back story, I was aware for some time that Radiohead was coming to Vancouver and I knew I HAD to go. So I changed my start page for Firefox and keep my eye open for when the tickets went on sale. I had been having computer issues for a couple weeks and they all amounted to a busted ass computer for about 4 days. In those 4 days the tickets went on sale and completely sold out within minutes. To say I was a little upset would be an understatement. But I feared not, usedvictoria.com came to my (and Duncan’s) rescue, and we were able to secure two tickets for only 15% more than ticket price (I would have paid 100% ticket price) Then the unthinkable happened. During a move Duncan misplaced the tickets and was unable to find them. Luckily for me, Matt (who was also going, along with Graham and Kathleen) was stuck with an extra ticket which I scooped up. Duncan was unable to come after dropping an already large amount of money on 2 pieces of paper he just threw away :P.

The concert itself was amazing. It was an outdoor concert at Thunderbird Stadium with thousands of people. Radiohead hit the stage and played two of the most amazing hours of music I have ever bared witness to. It rained and then it rained even harder, but no one cared. We just watched. I mentioned the energy the Foo Fighters had during their concert. Radiohead doesn’t do “High Energy” shows. But Thom Yorkes ability to connect with the audience is uncanny. I spent the majority of the Radiohead concert by myself, as I lost Graham, Matt and Kathleen early on. It was odd, I was expecting to have to avoid dumb people and stupid little fan girls but then it dawned on me; I’m not at the My Chemical Romance concert. I’m with a huge group of awesome people who are there to enjoy the music (and smoke a lot of weed) and not act like total fucktards; it was a nice change of pace.

Notable Moments: The Beer Garden, They managed to play every song off the new Album (which you will read about later) and the Rain.

*NO CAMERA, NO PICTURE*

1. DESERT BUS 2008

This is a hard one to put into words, as I am still trying to come to terms with what we actually managed to get accomplished. Originally when we started talking about doing Desert Bus again it was something completely different from what we ended up doing. We had these grandiose plans of going down to Seattle and being put up in a hotel for a week with the use of a small conference room. Then we would go about inviting as many “Guest Drivers” as we could possibly get. People in the gaming industry, Mike and Jerry from Penny Arcade, Wil Wheaton and Felecia Day, and whoever else we could think of. As the date came closer and closer we found ourselves without a location and the inability to be able to invite these people to the event. Then an opportunity arose that would see us all go to Vegas and do this event from the Rio hotel. After a couple weeks of back and forth with the people down there it was decided that this year was not going to work. So we just ended up doing exactly what we did last year, with a couple notable differences. First off we decided against doing it at Bill and Morgan’s place instead opting for the Office and we did manage to get a lot of people involved, but over the phone. In the end I spent 5 of the most amazing days of my life with the people I love, raising money for a terrific cause and getting to chat with some pretty rad people. Somehow we managed to beat the already impossible feeling total of last year, and not only did we beat it we tripled that motherfucker! $70,423.79 was raised in the end and it’s a number that is still beyond comprehension.

Notable Moments: To many to even try and weed through, the whole thing was awesome

dsc_0252

Other events that I need to mention are PAX 2008, that was incredible. 3 days with 50,000 geeks is something to remember. Next year I think it will make this list. Me and Ashley went to Powell River in the summer. It was my first time there in one of the warm months, it was super nice. I look forward to getting up there again next summer now that her parents have a cabin on the lake.

So that’s it for part one of my top 20 of 2008. I will return Sunday with my top movies of this past year, Wednesday we shall cover world events over the past year and I will end things out with my top albums of 2008. Just writing this portion has reminded me that while 2008 saw its fair share of crap, it was a pretty amazing year and it boggles my mind I am another year down in this thing called existence (figure I would leave on a “deep, emo” thought)

As my friend Jeremy says

Go with yourself (Never sure what exactly I am suppose to do with myself, but it always makes me laugh)

1 comment so far

  1. Duncan on

    If I ever find those tickets, I’m going to track down radiohead, wave the tickets in their face and demand two tickets-worth of performances right there and then.


Leave a Reply

